Due to the Berlin-Marathon, there are traffic delays until September 25. More information...

A Journey of Ideas Across: In Dialog with Edward Said

A Journey of Ideas Across: In Dialog with Edward Said

A Journey of Ideas Across: In Dialog with Edward Said

An online publication by Haus der Kulturen der Welt, 2014
Conceptualized and edited by Adania Shibli
ISBN 978-3-943994-05-6

Online Publication journeyofideasacross.hkw.de
Download E-Book

In 2001, two years prior to his death, Edward W. Said wrote, commenting on online publishing, “All of us should therefore operate today with some notion of very probably reaching much larger audiences than any we could have conceived of a decade ago.… This is not simply a matter of optimism of the will; it is in the very nature of writing today.” In the spirit of such comment, the multimedia online-publication A Journey of Ideas Across: In Dialog with Edward Said, with its e-book companion, traces the relevance of Said’s ideas today, as they continue to journey and inspire new links between different audiences and cultures with various political, social, and economic concerns, and new modes of intellectual and artistic interventions.

The online publication draws on the interdisciplinary symposium with the same name (31.10.–2.11.2013, at HKW in Berlin), as it makes the inspiring contributions to the latter, along with new contributions, available to a worldwide public. The project comprises six chapters with themes that extend from contemplating Said’s legacy in the present, to shifts in some of the main concepts he treated (e.g. imperialism and Orientalism); the ways in which dichotomies could be undermined; possible forms of resistance to external as well as internal colonialisms; the significance of Said’s concepts outside academia, and the anti-narrative vigor epitomized by “late style.” Contributions to these chapters by actors from different fields and areas make full use of the opportunities offered by the Internet. In so doing, this project paves the way for far-reaching forms of interaction and novel modes of engagement with Said’s work—from Orientalism (1978) to On Late Style (published posthumously, 2006). Furthermore, the project introduces new approaches to interdisciplinarity and criticality that could not be imagined without the use of an online medium. By means of its form, this medium actively subverts spatial divides (e.g. Orient/Occident, or East/West). In their place, it permits cultural crossings, and bridges distances and gaps through critical thinking and knowledge, imagination, compassion, and generosity. The inclusion of non-discursive, artistic, visual, and musical elements, alongside academic and non-academic discursive ones, especially, confirms such venture. At the same time, such uncharted modes of engagement with and interpretation of Said’s work, are reminiscent of “late style”—the non-conventional energy that Said himself sought toward the end of his life, and which manifests a departure from linear and classical modes of thinking and production.

With contributions by Basel Abbas & Ruanne Abou-Rahme, Meltem Ahıska, Ahl al-Kahf, Mohammad al-Attar, Akeel Bilgrami, Boris Buden, Edward Said National Conservatory of Music—Birzeit University Palestine, Burnt Friedman & Saam Schlamminger, Johannes S. Ismaeil-Wendt, Abdelfattah Kilito, Mahmood Mamdani, Samia Mehrez, W. J. T. Mitchell, Prabhat Patnaik, James Quandt, Joe Sacco, Edward W. Said, Bernd M. Scherer, Adania Shibli, Fawwaz Traboulsi, Trinh T. Minh-ha, Michael Wood, and Feridun Zaimoğlu.

Design: NODE Berlin Oslo

A Journey of Ideas Across: In Dialog with Edward Said

A Journey of Ideas Across: In Dialog with Edward Said

A Journey of Ideas Across: In Dialog with Edward Said

Eine Online-Publikation des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt, 2014
Konzipiert und herausgegeben von Adania Shibli
ISBN 978-3-943994-05-6

Online-Publikation journeyofideasacross.hkw.de
Download E-Book

Im Jahr 2001, zwei Jahre vor seinem Tod, schrieb Edward Said zum Thema Online-Veröffentlichungen: „Wir sollten heute alle im Hinterkopf behalten, dass wir mit großer Wahrscheinlichkeit ein weit größeres Publikum erreichen, als wir es noch vor zehn Jahren für denkbar hielten. [...] Das hat nichts mit blauäugigem Optimismus zu tun; es liegt in der Natur des Schreibens in heutiger Zeit.“ Angeregt von einem solchen Kommentar geht die multimediale Publikation A Journey of Ideas Across: In Dialog with Edward Said (mit begleitendem E-Book) der aktuellen Bedeutung von Saids Gedankengut nach. Seine Ideen sind nach wie vor virulent, bewegen sich um die Welt und inspirieren neue Verbindungen zwischen verschiedenen Leserschaften und Kulturen, treten bei politischen, gesellschaftlichen und ökonomischen Anliegen ebenso in Erscheinung wie bei neuen Formen intellektueller und künstlerischer Interventionen.

Die Online-Publikation schließt an das gleichnamige interdisziplinäre Symposium an, das vom 31. Oktober bis 2. November 2013 am Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin stattfand. Ziel ist, die inspirierenden Beiträge zu diesem Symposium – ergänzt um neue Materialien – einem weltweiten Publikum zugänglich zu machen. Das Projekt umfasst sechs Kapitel, die ein weites Themenfeld erschließen: Überlegungen zu Saids Vermächtnis in der Gegenwart; neue Bewegungen in einigen der zentralen Konzepte, mit denen er sich befasste (z. B. Imperialismus und Orientalismus); Mittel, mit denen sich Dichotomien unterhöhlen lassen; mögliche Formen des Widerstands gegen externe wie interne Kolonialismen; die Bedeutung von Saids Ideen jenseits der akademischen Welt – und nicht zuletzt die anti-narrative Energie, die sich im „Spätstil“ (so der Titel seines postum erschienenen Buches On Late Style) ausdrückt. Die Beiträge zu diesen Kapiteln stammen von Akteuren aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen und schöpfen die Möglichkeiten des Internets voll aus. So bereitet das Projekt den Weg für einen Austausch von größtmöglicher Reichweite und für neue Methoden, mit Saids Texten umzugehen – von Orientalism (1978) bis hin zu On Late Style (2006). Darüber hinaus bietet das Projekt neue Ansätze des interdisziplinären und kritischen Denkens, die ohne den Rückgriff auf ein Online-Medium nicht vorstellbar wären. Vermittels seiner Form untergräbt es räumliche Trennlinien – wie Orient/Okzident oder Ost/West – und erlaubt an deren Stelle kulturelle Übergänge, überbrückt Entfernungen und Gräben durch kritisches Denken, durch Bewusstsein, Vorstellungskraft, Mitgefühl und Großzügigkeit. Der Einbezug nicht-diskursiver, künstlerischer visueller und musikalischer Elemente – neben akademischen wie nichtakademischen diskursiven Beiträgen – unterstreicht zusätzlich diesen Ansatz. Gleichzeitig erinnern diese ungewohnten Formen der Auseinandersetzung mit Saids Werk an den „Spätstil“, also eben jene unkonventionelle Energie, nach der Said gegen Ende seines Lebens strebte. In ihr manifestiert sich ein Abschied von linearen und klassischen Modi des Denkens und Handels.

Mit Beiträgen von Basel Abbas & Ruanne Abou-Rahme, Meltem Ahıska, Ahl al-Kahf, Mohammad al-Attar, Akeel Bilgrami, Boris Buden, Edward Said National Conservatory of Music—Birzeit University Palestine, Burnt Friedman & Saam Schlamminger, Johannes S. Ismaeil-Wendt, Abdelfattah Kilito, Mahmood Mamdani, Samia Mehrez, W. J. T. Mitchell, Prabhat Patnaik, James Quandt, Joe Sacco, Edward W. Said, Bernd M. Scherer, Adania Shibli, Fawwaz Traboulsi, Trinh T. Minh-ha, Michael Wood, und Feridun Zaimoğlu.

Design: NODE Berlin Oslo