Due to the Berlin-Marathon, there are traffic delays until September 25. More information...

Program Advisory Board

2017

A Programme Advisory Board composed of international experts advises the Haus der Kulturen der Welt in the thematic development of its programme. The Haus receives valuable additional stimulus through its active involvement in a network of cultural organizations around the world.

James Clifford | Photo: private

James Clifford | Photo: private

James Clifford (Santa Cruz CA / USA)
Distinguished Professor in the Humanities and Professor Emeritus, History of Consciousness Department at the University of California, Santa Cruz
After completing his PhD in European Intellectual and Social History at Harvard (1977), Clifford joined the History of Consciousness Department at the University of California. He has held visiting professorships at Yale, The Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales in Paris, University College, London, the Freie Universität in Berlin and Stanford University. Clifford is an important historical critic of European systems of thought, particularly the concepts of “culture,” “man,” the “primitive,” and the “exotic”. Over the years, Clifford’s research and teaching has combined perspectives from history, literary analysis, anthropology and cultural studies, as well as drawing on contemporary poetics and museum studies. With books like Writing Culture: The Poetics and Politics of Ethnography (1986) and The Predicament of Culture: Twentieth-Century Ethnography, Literature, and Art (1988), he played a central role in the debates of the mid-80s that changed fundamentally anthropological research practices and intellectual dispositions. Since then Clifford has written influential works on issues related to indigeneity, globalization, museum studies, literary and visual studies. He founded the renowned Center for Cultural Studies, University of California at Santa Cruz and is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Clifford continues to work on issues related to indigeneity, globalization, museum studies, literary and visual studies—all in cross-cultural translation.

Teju Cole | Photo: Jens Liebchen

Teju Cole | Photo: Jens Liebchen

Teju Cole (New York / USA)
Author and photographer
Teju Cole was born in the United States and raised in Nigeria. He is the author of the works of fiction “Open City” and “Every Day is for the Thief,” and the essay collection “Known and Strange Things.” He has received numerous recognitions for his work, including the PEN/Hemingway Award, the New York City Book Award, the Windham Campbell Prize, and in 2013 the Internationaler Literaturpreis – Haus der Kulturen der Welt. He is Distinguished Writer in Residence at Bard College and Photography Critic of the New York Times Magazine. His forthcoming book is "Blind Spot," which will be accompanied by a solo exhibition of his photography at the Steven Kasher Gallery in New York in summer 2017.

Nick Currie | Photo: Jens Liebchen

Nick Currie | Photo: Jens Liebchen

Nick Currie (Osaka, Japan)
Nick Currie was born in Scotland. As a child he lived in Edinburgh, Athens and Montréal. He graduated from the University of Aberdeen in 1984 and moved to London, where he began making pop records under the name Momus. Since then he’s lived in Berlin, New York and Osaka and released over thirty LPs, six novels, art performances, and a constant stream of journalism.

Prof. Dr. David Theo Goldberg | Photo: Jens Liebchen

Prof. Dr. David Theo Goldberg | Photo: Jens Liebchen

Prof. Dr. David Theo Goldberg (Irvine CA / USA)
Director and Professor at the University of California Humanities Research Institute,
Executive Director Digital Media and Learning Research Hub
David Theo Goldberg was born in South Africa and studied philosophy and economics in Cape Town and New York. He taught at a number of universities before being named Director of the University of California Humanities Research Institute in 2000. Goldberg has researched and published widely, on subjects ranging from political theory, law, and society to critical race theory and racism, cultural studies, gender studies, and ethnic studies.

Prof. Dr. Encarnación Gutiérrez Rodríguez | © Macarena Gonzalez Ulloa

Prof. Dr. Encarnación Gutiérrez Rodríguez | © Macarena Gonzalez Ulloa

Prof. Dr. Encarnación Gutiérrez Rodríguez (Giessen, Germany)
Sociologist, Professor of Sociology at the Justus Liebig University Giessen
Encarnación Gutiérrez Rodríguez studied sociology, political science, and Romance languages in Frankfurt / Main, Lyon, and Quito, Ecuador. She has taught and worked at the universities of Manchester and Hamburg, as well as in the USA, Brazil, Argentina, Mexico, Portugal, Sweden, Finland, Austria, and Switzerland. Her areas of interest include global inequality and its local manifestations, and the application of a post-Marxist and decolonial perspective on migration, labor, and culture. Her research projects have been realized in part through support from the DFG (German Research Foundation), the British Academy, the EU, and the Ford Foundation. Gutiérrez Rodríguez has published broadly.

Ranjit Hoskoté | Photo: Jens Liebchen

Ranjit Hoskoté | Photo: Jens Liebchen

Ranjit Hoskoté (Bombay, India)
Author, Cultural Theorist, Curator, General Secretary of the PEN All-India Centre
Ranjit Hoskoté is a poet, cultural theorist and curator. He has authored 30 books including poetry collections, volumes of art criticism, translations, and studies in cultural history. His essays on art, architecture, literature, and the politics of culture have been published in international journals and anthologies. His key research interests include the history of transcultural encounter and the possibility of a critical, insurgent cosmopolitanism. Hoskoté co-curated the 7th Gwangju Biennale (2008) and was curator of India’s first-ever national pavilion at the Venice Biennale (2011).

Prof. Dr. Eva Illouz | Photo: David Vinocur

Prof. Dr. Eva Illouz | Photo: David Vinocur

Prof. Dr. Eva Illouz (Jerusalem, Israel)
Sociologist, Cultural Scientist, Professor of Sociology at the Hebrew University Jerusalem, President of Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design, Jerusalem
Eva Illouz was raised in France and studied sociology, communications, literature, and cultural studies in Paris, Jerusalem, and Philadelphia where she obtained her PhD at the University of Pennsylvania. She has been a visiting professor in Princeton, Paris, and Frankfurt / Main, where she delivered the 2004 Adorno lectures, as well as a fellow of the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin. Her books, in which she examines relationships between consumer society, media, capitalism, and human emotions, have been translated into fifteen languages and are published in numerous editions. She has received numerous international awards.

Hassan Khan | © Sebastian Bolesch / HKW

Hassan Khan | © Sebastian Bolesch / HKW

Hassan Khan (Cairo, Egypt)
Artist, Musician, Writer
Hassan Khan works with images, sound, text, and space, and produces audiovisual media, videos, installations, and performances. Recent exhibitions include: Museum of Rhythm at Museum Sztuki in Lodz, 2017; The Portrait is an Address, Beirut Art Center, 2016; The Slapper and the Cap of Invisibility at Montreal Biennial, 2016; Flow My Tears, The Policeman Said, Museum für Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt, 2015; The Flying Saucer at The Sharjah Biennial, 2015; Kodak Passageway, D-CAF, Cairo, 2014; The Unrest of Forms, Secession, Vienna, 2013; Hassan Khan, SALT, Istanbul, 2012; Documenta 13, Kassel, 2012; Intense Proximity, Paris Triennial, 2012; and The Ungovernables, New Museum Triennial, New York, 2012. Khan also regularly performs his own music live; recent appearances include: Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York, 2016; Sursock Gardens, Beirut, 2016; Whitechapel Gallery, London, 2015; SVNMASH Music Festival, Milan, 2015; Portikus, Frankfurt, 2015; The Toulouse International Art Festival, 2014; Maerz Musik Festival, Berlin, 2013 and Ghetto, Istanbul, 2013. His publications include "Twelve Clues" (2016), "The Agreement“ (2011) and "Nine Lessons Learned from Sherif El Azma“ (2009). Khan lives and works in Cairo, Egypt.

Sunjung Kim | Photo: Jens Liebchen

Sunjung Kim | Photo: Jens Liebchen

Sunjung Kim (Seoul, South Korea)
Sunjung Kim is the director of the Art Sonje Center, Seoul, and curator of the REAL DMZ PROJECT, which engages issues surrounding the division of Korea. From 1993 to 2004, Kim was the chief curator at the Art Sonje Center, Seoul, and in 2005 was Commissioner of the Korean Pavilion at the 51st Venice Biennale. Kim was Artistic Director of Media City Seoul (2010), Artistic Co-Director of Gwangju Biennale (2012), and Artistic Director of ACC Research & Archive in Asian Culture Center in Gwangju (2014-2015).

Prof. Dr. Hansjürgen Rosenbauer | © Sebastian Bolesch / HKW

Prof. Dr. Hansjürgen Rosenbauer | © Sebastian Bolesch / HKW

Prof. Dr. Hansjürgen Rosenbauer (Berlin, Germany)
Cultural Theorist, Moderator, Chairman of the Media Council of the Medienanstalt Berlin Brandenburg (MABB), Member of the Supervisory Board of KBB GmbH since 2007
Hansjürgen Rosenbauer studied political science, sociology, and German studies in Frankfurt am Main and New York. He has worked as a journalist and program host for various German radio and television broadcasters, including as head of the foreign desk and director of culture, science, and education programming at WDR. He was director of Ostdeutscher Rundfunk Brandenburg from its founding in 1991 until its fusion with Sender Freies Berlin in May 2003. He served as president of INPUT (International Public Television Screening Conference) and as professor at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne.

Mustafa Shabbir | Photo: Jens Liebchen

Mustafa Shabbir | Photo: Jens Liebchen

Mustafa Hussain Shabbir (Singapore)
Curator, Art Critic
Mustafa Hussain Shabbir is Senior Curator at the National Gallery Singapore, where he currently heads the curatorial team overseeing Between Declarations and Dreams: Art of Southeast Asia since the 19th Century, a long-term exhibition that surveys art about the region from the 19th century to present day. He curated Sea State featuring artist Charles Lim for the Singapore Pavilion at the 56th Venice Biennale. Much of his work at the Gallery involves meditating upon how time and the modern transact in Southeast Asia. From 2007 – 2013 he was Curator at the National University of Singapore Museum (NUS Museum).In 2013, he curated In Search of Raffles’ Light - An Art Project with Charles Lim, a three-year collaboration with the artist that tracked the immaterial, mundane and irreconcilable traces surrounding Singapore’s fractured relationship with the sea. Mustafa writes often, at times about the methodological considerations for the rethinking of curatorial practice in Singapore.

Internationaler Programmbeirat

2017

Ein hochrangig besetzter, internationaler Programmbeirat berät das Haus der Kulturen der Welt in der Entwicklung seiner Themen. Wichtige Impulse gewinnt das Haus auch aus seiner Netzwerkarbeit, die es mit kulturellen Einrichtungen aus der ganzen Welt verbindet.

James Clifford | Foto: privat

James Clifford | Foto: privat

James Clifford (Santa Cruz CA / USA)
Professor der Geisteswissenschaften und emeritierter Professor des History of Consciousness Department an der University of California, Santa Cruz
Nach seiner Promotion auf dem Gebiet der Europäischen Geistes- und Sozialgeschichte an der Harvard University (1977) ging James Clifford an das History of Consciousness Department der University of California. Als Gastprofessor lehrte er u.a. an der Yale University, der École des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales in Paris, am University College in London, der Freien Universität Berlin und der Stanford University. Clifford ist ein Kritiker europäischer Denksysteme, insbesondere der Konzepte von „Kultur“, „Mensch“, das „Primitive“ und das „Exotische“. In seiner Forschung und Lehre hat er Perspektiven aus der Geschichte, literarische Analysen, Anthropologie und Kulturwissenschaften verbunden, und ebenso zeitgenössische Poesie und Museumskunde mit einbezogen. Mit Büchern wie Writing Culture: The Poetics and Politics of Ethnography (1986) und The Predicament of Culture: Twentieth-Century Ethnography, Literature, and Art (1988) spielte er eine zentrale Rolle in den Debatten, durch die in den 1980er Jahren die Forschungsmethoden und die akademischen Ansätze der Anthropologie fundamental verändert wurden. Clifford hat weiterhin zahlreiche einflussreiche Werke veröffentlicht, die sich mit Indigenität, Globalisierung, Museumskunde, Literaturwissenschaften und Visual Studies auseinandersetzen. Er ist Gründer des renommierten Center for Cultural Studies der University of California, Santa Cruz und seit 2011 Mitglied der American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Teju Cole | Foto: Jens Liebchen

Teju Cole | Foto: Jens Liebchen

Teju Cole (New York / USA)
Schriftsteller und Fotograf
Teju Cole wurde in den USA geboren und wuchs in Nigeria auf. Er ist Autor der Romane „Open City“ und „Every Day is for the Thief“ (in deutscher Sprache erschienen unter dem Titel „Jeder Tag gehört dem Dieb“), sowie der Essay-Sammlung „Known and Strange Things“. Für seine Arbeit hat er zahlreiche Auszeichnungen erhalten, darunter den PEN/Hemingway Award, den New York City Book Award, den Windham Campbell Prize, sowie im Jahr 2013 den Internationalen Literaturpreis – Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Er ist Distinguished Writer in Residence am Bard College New York, und schreibt regelmäßig im New York Times Magazine über Fotografie. In Kürze wird das Buch „Blind Spot“ erscheinen, und zwar begleitet von einer Solo-Ausstellung seiner fotografischen Arbeiten an der Steven Kasher Gallery in New York im Sommer 2017.

Nick Currie | Foto: Jens Liebchen

Nick Currie | Foto: Jens Liebchen

Nick Currie (Osaka / Japan)
Nick Currie wurde in Schottland geboren und verbrachte seine Jugendjahre in Edinburgh, Athen und Montréal. 1984 schloss er sein Studium an der Universität Aberdeen ab, zog nach London und begann unter dem Künstlernamen „Momus“ Popschallplatten zu produzieren. Seitdem hat er in Berlin, New York und Osaka gelebt und mehr als 30 Alben und sechs Romane veröffentlicht. Darüber hinaus ist er mit Kunstperformances aufgetreten und publiziert kontinuierlich journalistische Beiträge.

Prof. Dr. David Theo Goldberg | Foto: Jens Liebchen

Prof. Dr. David Theo Goldberg | Foto: Jens Liebchen

Prof. Dr. David Theo Goldberg (Irvine CA / USA)
Direktor und Professor am Humanities Research Institute der University of California, geschäftsführender Direktor des Digital Media and Learning Research Hub
David Theo Goldberg, geboren in Südafrika, studierte Philosophie und Ökonomie in Kapstadt und New York, und hat an einer Reihe von Universitäten gelehrt, bevor er im Jahr 2000 Direktor des University of California Humanities Research Institute wurde. Goldbergs umfangreiche Forschungen umfassen Fragen rund um politische Theorie, Recht und Gesellschaft sowie kritische Rassentheorie und Rassismus, Cultural Studies, Gender Studies und Ethnic Studies. Zu diesen Themen hat Goldberg zahlreiche Publikationen vorgelegt.

Prof. Dr. Encarnación Gutiérrez Rodríguez | © Macarena Gonzalez Ulloa

Prof. Dr. Encarnación Gutiérrez Rodríguez | © Macarena Gonzalez Ulloa

Prof. Dr. Encarnación Gutiérrez Rodríguez (Giessen / Deutschland)
Soziologin, Professorin für Allgemeine Soziologie an der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen
Encarnación Gutiérrez Rodríguez studierte Soziologie, Politikwissenschaften und Romanistik in Frankfurt/Main, Lyon und Quito/Ecuador. Sie lehrte und arbeitete an den Universitäten von Manchester und Hamburg, sowie in den USA, Brasilien, Argentinien, Mexiko, Portugal, Schweden, Finnland, Österreich und der Schweiz. Ihre Interessen liegen u.a. im Bereich globaler Ungleichheiten und ihrer lokalen Ausprägung sowie der Anwendung einer postmarxistischen und dekolonialen Perspektive auf Migration, Arbeit und Kultur. Ihre Forschungsprojekte konnten zum Teil mit der Unterstützung der DFG, der British Academy, der EU und der Ford Foundation realisiert werden. Gutiérrez Rodríguez hat umfangreich publiziert.

Ranjit Hoskoté | Foto: Jens Liebchen

Ranjit Hoskoté | Foto: Jens Liebchen

Ranjit Hoskoté (Bombay / Indien)
Autor, Kulturtheoretiker, Kurator, Generalsekretär des PEN All-India Centre
Ranjit Hoskoté ist Dichter, Kulturtheoretiker und Kurator. Er hat rund 30 Bücher veröffentlicht, darunter Gedichtsammlungen, Bände zur Kunstkritik, Übersetzungen und kulturgeschichtliche Studien. Seine Texte über Kunst, Architektur, Literatur und Kulturpolitik werden in internationalen Zeitschriften und Anthologien veröffentlicht. Zu seinen zentralen Interessen gehören die Geschichte des transkulturellen Austauschs und die Möglichkeiten eines kritischen Kosmopolitismus. Hoskoté hat die 7. Biennale von Gwangju kokuratiert (2008), und war Kurator des ersten Pavillons von Indien bei der Biennale von Venedig (2011).

Prof. Dr. Eva Illouz | Foto: David Vinocur

Prof. Dr. Eva Illouz | Foto: David Vinocur

Prof. Dr. Eva Illouz (Jerusalem / Israel)
Soziologin, Kulturwissenschaftlerin, Professorin für Soziologie an der Hebräischen Universität, Jerusalem, Präsidentin der Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design, Jerusalem
Eva Illouz, aufgewachsen in Frankreich, studierte Soziologie, Kommunikation, Literatur und Kulturwissenschaften in Paris, Jerusalem und Philadelphia, wo sie an der Universität von Pennsylvania ihren Doktortitel erhielt. Sie war Gastprofessorin in Princeton, Paris und Frankfurt/Main, wo sie 2004 die Adorno-Vorlesungen hielt, sowie Fellow des Wissenschaftskollegs zu Berlin. Ihre Bücher, in denen sie den Zusammenhängen von Konsumgesellschaft, Medien, Kapitalismus und Gefühlen nachgeht, sind in 15 Sprachen übersetzt und erreichen hohe Auflagen. Sie hat zahlreiche internationale Auszeichnungen erhalten.

Hassan Khan | © Sebastian Bolesch / HKW

Hassan Khan | © Sebastian Bolesch / HKW

Hassan Khan (Kairo / Ägypten)
Künstler, Musiker, Autor
Hassan Khan arbeitet mit Bild, Ton, Text und Raum, er produziert audiovisuelle Medien, Videos, Installationen und Performances. Zu seinen letzten Ausstellungen gehören Museum of Rhythm am Muzeum Sztuki in Lodz, 2017; The Portrait is an Address am Beirut Art Center, 2016; The Slapper and the Cap of Invisibility bei der Montreal Biennial, 2016; Flow My Tears, The Policeman Said am Museum für Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt, 2015; The Flying Saucer bei der Sharjah Bienniale, 2015; Kodak Passageway, D-CAF, Kairo 2014 und The Unrest of Forms in der Wiener Secession, 2013. Hassan Khan war bei SALT in Istanbul (2012); der Documenta 13 in Kassel 2012, zeigte Intense Proximity bei der Paris Triennial, 2012 und The Ungovernables zur New Museum Triennial in New York, ebenfalls 2012. Khan tritt regelmäßig mit eigenen Kompositionen auf, unter anderem im Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York, 2016; in Sursock Gardens, Beirut, 2016; in der Whitechapel Gallery, London, 2015; beim SVNMASH Music Festival, Mailand, 2015; im Portikus, Frankfurt, 2015; beim Toulouse International Art Festival, 2014; beim Maerz Musik Festival, Berlin, 2013 und 2017 sowie bei Ghetto, Istanbul, 2013. Zu seinen Buchveröffentlichungen gehören "Twelve Clues" (2016), "The Agreement“ (2011) und "Nine Lessons Learned from Sherif El Azma“ (2009). Khan lebt und arbeitet in Kairo.

Sunjung Kim | Foto: Jens Liebchen

Sunjung Kim | Foto: Jens Liebchen

Sunjung Kim (Seoul / Südkorea)
Sunjung Kim ist Direktorin des Art Sonje Center, Seoul, und Kuratorin des REAL DMZ PROJECT, bei dem Themen rund um die Teilung Koreas aufgegriffen werden. Zwischen 1993 und 2004 war Kim Chefkuratorin des Art Sonje Center, und im Jahr 2005 Beauftragte für den koreanischen Pavillon bei der 51. Biennale von Venedig. Sie war künstlerische Leiterin von Media City Seoul (2010), künstlerische Kodirektorin der Gwangju Biennale (2012) und künstlerische Direktorin des ACC Research & Archive im Asian Culture Center Gwangju (2014-2015).

Prof. Dr. Hansjürgen Rosenbauer | © Sebastian Bolesch / HKW

Prof. Dr. Hansjürgen Rosenbauer | © Sebastian Bolesch / HKW

Prof. Dr. Hansjürgen Rosenbauer (Berlin / Deutschland)
Kulturtheoretiker, Moderator, Vorsitzender des Medienrats der Medienanstalt Berlin-Brandenburg (MABB), Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats der KBB GmbH seit 2007. Hansjürgen Rosenbauer studierte Politikwissenschaften, Soziologie und Germanistik in Frankfurt/Main und New York. Er arbeitete als Journalist und Moderator für verschiedene Rundfunk- und TV-Sender, u.a. als Leiter der Auslandsredaktion und des Programmbereichs Kultur, Wissenschaft, Bildung beim WDR. Von der Gründung im Jahre 1991 bis zur Fusion mit dem Sender Freies Berlin im Mai 2003 war er Intendant des Ostdeutschen Rundfunks Brandenburg. Er war Präsident von INPUT (International Public Televison Conference) und Professor an der Kunsthochschule für Medien, Köln.

Mustafa Shabbir | Foto: Jens Liebchen

Mustafa Shabbir | Foto: Jens Liebchen

Mustafa Hussain Shabbir (Singapur)
Kurator, Kunstkritiker
Mustafa Shabbir ist Chefkurator an der National Gallery in Singapur. Derzeit leitet er das Kuratorenteam, das Between Declarations and Dreams: Art of Southeast Asia Since the 19th Century entwickelt, eine langfristig angelegte Ausstellung über die Kunst der Region vom 19. Jahrhundert bis in die Gegenwart. 2015 kuratierte er den Pavillon von Singapur bei der 56. Venedig Biennale, wo er die Ausstellung Sea State des Künstlers Charles Lim zeigte. Zuvor war Shabbir von 2007 – 2013 Kurator am Museum der National University of Singapore (NUS Museum). 2013 kuratierte er In Search of Raffles’ Light - An Art Project With Charles Lim, eine dreijähriges Projekt mit dem Künstler, das den verborgenen, alltäglichen, widersprüchlichen Verbindungen zwischen Singapur und dem Meer nachging. Mustafa Shabbirs Interesse gilt Fragen der kulturellen Identität und Konzepten der Moderne in Südostasien. In seinen Texten befasst er sich häufig mit methodologischen Überlegungen zur kuratorischen Praxis in Singapur.